The Malta National Regattas


Malta’s National Regattas are held on September 8th and the 31st March in Malta’s Grand Harbour. In these historical regattas, rowers compete using traditional fixed-seat boats over a c. 1000m distance to win a Palju. The magnificent Fort St Angelo provides an imposing backdrop to the sleek and colourful Maltese boats. Rowing teams from Birzebbuga, Valletta, Vittoriosa, Senglea, Kalkara, Cospicua and Marsa participate in a number of very exciting races. In most boats, there is a equal mix of seated and standing rower where the standing rowers row in the Venetian style.

Four typed of boats are used in these regattas, namely the Dghajsa Tal-Pass which is rowed by two rowers (Races 1 and 6) or four rowers (Races 9 and 19), the Dghajsa Tal-Medalji, a lighter and faster version which is rowed by four rowers (Races 2 and 5), the Kajjik a small boat which is rowed by two rowers (Races 3 and 8) and the Frejgatina, another small boat which is the only boat rowed by two seated rowers and coxswain.

The Regatta is sanctioned by Ghaqda Regatta Nazzjonali u Qdif Iehor, the Maltese Rowing Association with the logistics being provided by SportMalta (formerly known as the Malta Sports Council) who also finance the prizes.

The traditional Maltese rowing style and form is currently the subject of a study by the University of Malta through a project running under the auspices of the Faculty of Heath Sciences. For further information about this project one may contact Tonio P. AgiusJohn Xerri de Caro or Joseph N Grima.